Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Postdoc Excellence Awards recognize outstanding UW–Madison postdocs and faculty members

May 25, 2022


Six UW–Madison postdocs have been recognized with the second annual Postdoc Excellence Awards, presented by the UW–Madison Postdoctoral Association, in the areas of teaching, service and mentoring. The association, a volunteer-led advocacy group for UW–Madison postdocs supported by the Office of Postdoctoral Studies, launched the Postdoc Excellence Awards last year to reward postdocs for their outstanding efforts in these areas. The association also recognized three UW–Madison faculty members with Distinguished Faculty Postdoc Mentoring Awards to honor their outstanding mentorship of postdoctoral trainees on campus. The Distinguished Faculty Postdoc Mentoring Awards were established in 2015 to encourage and acknowledge excellence, innovation, and effectiveness in the mentoring of postdocs.

Postdocs were nominated for the Excellence Awards by their students, mentees, mentors and colleagues with letters of support detailing how they exemplified exceptional teaching, service or mentorship. Faculty members were nominated by current or former postdocs with letters of support detailing how they have exemplified exceptional mentorship. An association committee was then tasked with selecting from among dozens of nominations those who have gone above and beyond in contributing their time, knowledge, energy, and enthusiasm. These postdocs and faculty embody the ideals of the association and the University of Wisconsin, and their dedication is inspiring and worthy of recognition.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s awardees, listed below, for their extraordinary commitment to the community at UW–Madison.


Postdoc Excellence Award in Teaching
Sam Waterworth, PhD – Pharmacy

Postdoc Excellence Award in Service
Alison Deatsch, PhD – Medical Physics
Morgan Howe, PhD – Chemistry

Postdoc Excellence Award in Mentoring
Adam Schafer, PhD – Chemistry
Laura Swan, PhD – Population Health Sciences
Lauren Zebertavage, PhD – Human Oncology


Distinguished Faculty Postdoc Mentoring Awards

Richard Lindroth, PhD – Entomology

Nicole Rogus-Pulia, PhD – Medicine

Cynthia Kelm-Nelson, PhD – Surgery


The awardees were honored at the association’s Celebration of Postdoc Excellence in May. The list of Postdoc Excellence Award winners can be viewed here. The full list of previous Distinguished Faculty Postdoc Mentoring Award winners can be viewed here. While only a few nominations could be selected to receive the awards, the association is grateful for all of the UW–Madison postdocs and faculty members who make UW-Madison an outstanding place for postdocs to train.

If you are interested in learning more about the association, please visit their website or email them