Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Steenbock Professorships

In the early 1980s, Mrs. Evelyn Steenbock initiated a program to endow a series of prestigious professorships in the natural sciences, in honor of her late husband Harry Steenbock, emeritus professor of Biochemistry. The income from those endowments supports research costs and/or released time for research of outstanding faculty nominated by UW–Madison departments or groups of three or more individual faculty. The final selection in each case is made by an expert selection committee from U.S. and Canadian universities. The initial award is for a period of ten years after which the selection committee will decide on the awardee for the ensuing ten years.

A competition will be initiated by the Office of Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education (VCRGE) several months prior to the date on which a Professorship will become available. Information on the Professorship, nomination procedures and deadlines will be distributed to School/College research officers for distribution to Department Chairs and faculty as appropriate.

Current Steenbock Professors

Behavioral & Neural Sciences: Su-Chun Zhang—until 6/30/2025

Biological Sciences: Anthony Ives—until 6/30/2025

Chemical Sciences: Laura Kiessling—until 6/30/2022

Engineering: James Rawlings—until 6/30/2026

Mathematical Sciences: Jin-Yi Cai—until 6/30/2024

Microbiological Sciences: Paul Ahlquist—until 6/30/2026

Nutrition: James Ntambi—until 6/30/2023

Physical Sciences: Robert Hamers—until 6/30/2024