Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin–Madison

5th Annual Postdoc Mentoring Awards recognize outstanding UW–Madison faculty

Five faculty members, who currently or recently mentored postdoctoral researchers in their labs at UW–Madison, have been awarded Postdoc Mentoring Awards for outstanding work in mentoring the next generation of scientists and researchers on campus.

The award is given by the University of Wisconsin Postdoctoral Association (UWPA), a volunteer run associate of all the postdoctoral researchers on the UW–Madison campus, who advocate for and seek to enhance the experience of postdocs on campus.

Although many of the nominations shared postdoc experiences of professional and scientific assistance, the UWPA felt the winning nominations showed commitment to developing personal, professional, diverse, and inclusive postdocs and lab environments, in keeping with ideals of the UWPA and the University of Wisconsin. In addition, they represent the breadth and diversity of the postdocs and world class research at UW from history, to biochemistry, mechanical engineering, entomology and to basic research in the School of Vet Medicine.

This years’ recipients are listed below and the full list of award winners for all years can be viewed at

Allesandro Senes, Department of Biochemistry

Mostafa Zamanian, Department of Pathobiological Sciences

Mitra Sharafi, Law School, Department of History

Darryl Thelen, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Claudio Gretten, Department of Entomology

To learn more about the UWPA, please visit or email the current President of the UWPA, Daniel Radecki (, or Vice President, Geovanna Rodriguez ( The UWPA and the Postdoc Mentoring Awards are sponsored and supported by the Office of Postdoctoral Studies on campus.