Embargoed/Restricted Countries

The U.S. government has placed embargoes or restrictions on activities with individuals or universities, institutions, or entities in certain countries. U.S. export regulations restrict exports to these individuals or entities and may require a U.S. Government authorization (license).

Please contact the Export Control Office if you are planning activities with an individual or organization in the countries noted below.

The current embargoed/restricted countries (This list is subject to change):

- Afghanistan
- Balkans
- Belarus
- Cambodia
- Central African Republic
- China [PRC]
- Crimea and so-called Donetsk People's Republic and Luhansk People's Republic Regions of Ukraine
- Cuba
- Cyprus
- Democratic Republic of the Congo
- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Haiti
- Hong Kong
- Iran

- Iraq
- Kyrgyzstan
- Lebanon
- Libya
- Mali
- Myanmar (formerly Burma)
- Nicaragua
- North Korea
- Russia
- Somalia
- South Sudan
- Sudan and Darfur
- Svria
- Ukraine/Russia-related Sanctions
- West Bank-Related Sanctions
- Venezuela
- Yemen
- Zimbabwe
- * Determined by the Bureau of Industry and Security, the Office of Foreign Assets Control, and the Department of State.