Embargoed/Restricted Countries

The U.S. government has placed embargoes or restrictions on activities with persons or organizations in certain countries. These activities include, but are not limited to:

- Shipping items
- Receiving items
- Financial transactions
- Travel
- Research collaboration
- Speaking at or attending conferences

The current embargoed/restricted countries determined by the Bureau of Industry and Security, the Office of Foreign Assets Control, and the Department of State are:

- Afghanistan
- Belarus
- Burma
- Cambodia
- Central African Republic
- China [PRC]
- Democratic Republic of the Congo
- Cuba
- Cyprus
- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Haiti
- Hong Kong
- Iran

- Iraq
- Lebanon
- Libya
- Mali
- Nicaragua
- North Korea
- Russia
- Somalia
- South Sudan
- Sudan and Darfur
- Syria
- Venezuela
- Yemen
- Zimbabwe

The list of embargoed and restricted countries is subject to change. Please contact the <u>Export Control Office</u> if you are planning activities with a person or organization in the above noted countries.